White privilege by Courtney Brooks

UntitledThe topics of wealth and inequality and white privilege go hand and hand, and being from an upper class white family, the saying “check your white privilege” is something that gets tossed around when I engage in conversations about such things. I recently came across an article posted on Buzzfeed titled, “17 Deplorable Examples of White Privilege” that listed all the injustices that I will never have to face based on white privilege.

Reading the article I found myself feeling very guilty, not because I take pride in white privilege but because I often feel ashamed of it. What caught my attention about this article is how they categorized all white people together, when we are not at all the same. While I do feel that some people use their white privilege to their advantage, I am not one of those people and I very much wish we lived in a world where race and wealth didn’t have any effect on how we are perceived.

I do not want to be defined by the term white privilege. I don’t want people to look at me and say that because I am white, I cannot understand the injustices and the struggles they face, or even more so, that I don’t care. I care very deeply about all people and I have a great deal of respect for those who have had to walk a tougher journey than I have. The term white privilege insinuates entitlement, and that is something that I want absolutely no part of.

Leave a Reply

