Maya Szymanski: Perpetuating sexist expectations is burning a hole in my pocket

UntitledWhy are women products higher in price compared to the male forms of the same product? A Washington Post article said “women’s deodorants typically cost 30 cents more than the same product for men.” And:

“The only discernible difference was scent.”

Listen, I didn’t ask to smell like flowers, yet these companies are telling me that’s what a woman should smell like.

UntitledIt’s a deeply flawed system created by big companies punishing an entire gender. This relates to other self-care products as well. At this point I’m getting dangerously close to making shady deals in back alleys for my razors. And women’s hair product prices are through the roof, compared  to men’s. We both need shampoo and conditioner but women are told they need “special” stuff completely appealing to the superficial nature of society. Why should I be punished for having luscious hair. (I can’t pull off the pixie cut; I just won’t do it, and you can’t make me.)

Coat a product in pink adds much to the price. Business Insider refers to this phenomenon as the “pink tax” and said that there was a…

California study that revealed women pay $1,351 a year more for the same products as men.

This is literally the definition of American capitalism. It’s actually not a market of choice. It is a system driven by the constant goal to turn a profit by exploitation. I say we try to abandon the mindset that everything needs to be separate with men and women products just because of societies determined gender roles.

But I guess at the end of the day we may both be tired and overworked. But at least my nails look unbelievable.

 

Leave a Reply

