Cameron Soltis: What I know now

Sweatshops-in-ChinaI think that it’s fitting that my final blog post should be about what I knew going into class and what I know now.

Before taking this class I had just general knowledge about income inequality. I knew about the gender wage gap, I knew about sweatshops, but I didn’t know the extent of both of these things as well as so many other things we covered in class. For instance, I was unaware of how great the gap really was. For example, looking at the ratio of women’s earnings to men’s earnings, there is a 72 percent gap between chief executives as well as a 91 percent gap for social workers.

I didn’t realize how much of a problem this was until I saw the numbers. Thanks to this class I now know how much of a problem this is, and why it needs to change. Also, I learned a lot more about what a sweatshop actual entails. I learned that a sweatshop is a factory that violates two or more labor laws. I learned that he fact that in developing countries, an estimated 168 million children ages 5 to 14 are forced to work. And finally, products that commonly come from sweatshops are garments, cotton, bricks, cocoa, and coffee. I also learned about the factory in Pakistan that collapsed killed and injured people. I’ve learned about fast fashion and the ethics — or lack of — behind it. and or unethical means behind it.

Finally, I’ve learned about the economic and social consequences due to the gap between the rich and poor classes in America, thanks to Robert Reich’s documentary, Inequality for All.

Leave a Reply

